The Traverse Area Association of REALTORS® (TAAR), formerly the Traverse City Board of REALTORS®, was formed in 1935.

On March 1, 1966, a full page article in the Traverse City Record-Eagle announced a new service in the Traverse City area...the Traverse City Board of REALTORS® Multiple Listing Service (MLS)! The MLS at that time consisted of nine offices and 39 individual members.

In 1977, construction was started on the current building on Garfield Avenue. Over the years, additions were built to house the print shop, and a large conference/meeting room.

In 1980, the Board of REALTORS® Information Service (BORIS) was created right here at TAAR! This took the MLS to a totally new dimension. Listing information was no longer on hand-written cards; it was computerized! 

The TAAR encompasses the five-county Grand Traverse area, which includes Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Antrim, Kalkaska, and Benzie Counties, as well as the immediate surrounding counties of Missaukee, Wexford, Manistee and Charlevoix.

Members of the Traverse Area Association of REALTORS® are committed to the profession of real estate, either in sales, brokerage, or related activities such as lending and title research.

Look for TAAR's Affiliate Members as well.  They have been accepted into membership as providers of the best in products and services in their real estate related field.